Polygamy is it an offence to God?

Posted: December 19, 2013 in Uncategorized

Polygamy is it an offence to God?  I have to admit I do not know.  I know the bible once supported polygamy and I also know several occasion in the bible where it makes reference to having only one spouse.  So I have to ask is polygamy a direct attack at God, where say homosexuality is.  Homosexuality contradicts what God has set in motion. The ability to come together and create life, no homosexual couples can do this. I believe if God meant for it to be then he would have created a way so this could possible happen (for all those out there who want to argue the some heterosexual couples can’t create life). I guess I would have to check the motives of those who wanted to have more than one spouse.  I don’t see where it has a negative effect on the economy, child rearing, or human decency.  I am more interested with their relationship with the Lord.  Is the relationship based only on Legalistic virtues? My church tells me to do this to please God so I’m going to do it. Or this is what I read in the bible so I’m going to do just what it says.  Basically relationships where you don’t even need God to be present just his so called guidelines.

In the matter of our country we are arguing should we legalize polygamy. I would say if polygamy is going to stand on the same leg as homosexual marriage than I say yes.  This is what you get when you want to stretch the first amendment. (Separation of church and state) the world will bend the truth to fit its needs.  Now don’t get me wrong I’m not calling polygamy a sin or demonic but I don’t see how it serve the church, all its virtues seems to fit man and man alone.  I’m merely arguing the state can’t say in one breath church and state are separate and in another because America has Christian values we can’t let this happen.  Or because this is foreign to us we can t let this take place. No we are the land of tolerance of acceptance, inclusion we must stand on our principles and usher this in right along with homosexuality, bestiality or whoever or whatever we see ourselves marring we should be allowed in America because we pay our taxes.

I’m glad the kingdom of God does not work like that.  I’m glad I serve a God who says I am the way truth and the light.  I’m glad I can’t just do what makes me feel good and call it right I’m glad I check in with a living God to see if this is pleasing to him and am I being a good witness.  I think that is what this boils down to how my life reflects Gods character.  Being part of some polygamist group turns people off then no matter how it makes me feel I will abide by the law and marry just one woman or one man if it means that others may have an opportunity to know God. As I type this I am reminded of a scripture 1 Corinthians 8:13 and it talks about abstaining from things that may cause others to sin or I would say to not know the truth because that is what sin does not know the truth.  Is polygamy an offence to God I don’t know but it sure does not help his cause any and that is what we are here for.                        

Leave a Reply

